Ended in Nicaragua

Study abroad has come to an end for me, but what a fantastic semester. I am writing this from my bedroom in Maine with the contents of my half unpacked backpack all around me. It feels good to be home of course but I miss Costa Rica already. For starters it is very cold and I was not ready for that! The end of the program was good. Finals week wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. On the last day we had a good bye lunch which was nice and then Aidan, Lyle, and I went out one last time in San José. I woke up early in the morning to catch my bus. My host mom got up with me which was really nice and also Luciana was awake so I got to give her one last cuddle. My host mom gave me some Costa Rican coffee which I can’t wait to drink. It was also sad to say bye to Aidan but Ill see him again pretty soon.

I took the bus all the way to Managua. It was pretty slow at the border this time. I saw all the Cubans camped out at the impromptu encampment at the border which was pretty crazy (if you haven’t heard about the Cuban Immigrant crisis at the Costa Rica Nicaragua border its worth a google, interesting situation). I picked up my mom that night at the Managua airport. It was really nice to see her. We spent an awesome week together packing in a lot. Nicaragua is an interesting and beautiful country. I’ll give you a brief run down.

We left Managua after one night. The city was nice but we wanted to get to the island Ometepe which is a double volcano island in the big lake. It was absolutely gorgeous. We took a ferry boat out and we stayed in a hotel on the beach. We did a horseback ride which was a lot of fun and a good way to see some of the island. From there we went to Masaya and went to the Masaya volcano again among other things. Both of us climbed the whole way up which felt good. From there we also visited Léon and Granada. Léon was our favorite city. Rough around the edges but gorgeous and interesting. We saw a dance show there, and climbed on the roof of a cathedral.

Traveling with my mom is fun because we both like to scope out good food and especially veg food. We meet a lot of locals and have good conversations with people. And plus my mom will even stay in hostels. anyways we had a good time and my mom actually did some blogging in much more depth about Nicaragua so if you know her def check her facebook for that.

Going back to the US was a little sad as it usually is but seeing my dad and brother was really nice and I am excited this time because Aidan and I and some other friends just signed a lease on our first apartment in NYC. Im coming back very soon New York, so watch out! Although I probably wont be traveling too much for a little bit ill blog about anything interesting.

Lastly if I could give one piece of advice to anyone reading this from my school it would be, GO FOR IT, please do study abroad. Or just travel, but also do study abroad. I think study abroad is important for almost everyone while in college and I found it really manageable and I think you will too. It may change your life, you never know. I had a beautiful time in Costa Rica for a few months and met some awesome people. I would do it again in a heart beat. I also am very excited to get back to my school soon.

Pura Vida.

Author: maxineisland

Live Out Loud

Leave a Reply

