Pura Vida

Im currently sitting in my bedroom in San José, Costa Rica with the dog Ceci! I know, I’ll have to back up a little.

After a really nice time in North Carolina I met up with my family in Philadelphia to drop my sister off at college for her freshman year. Then we drove together back to Peaks and had a great (but too short of course) time there. My dad, my brother, and I went camping at Pocumcus which was also really fun, I hadn’t been in a while. I was sad to leave Maine but excited to get here to Costa Rica for the semester! I flew through Dallas and arrived in San José in the evening. I was picked up by ICDS along with two other students. Then we were dropped off at our host families houses. I met mine briefly but it was super late and I fell asleep pretty quickly.

In the morning my host mom walked me to the ICDS office for orientation. We got a tour of the University and then headed out in a bus to a retreat sort of place with pretty views of the city. We did the normal stuff, games, got safety talks, etc. In the evening we had a latin dance class and all stayed over at the place. It was pretty fun to get to know everyone on the program. It’s a small group, only 10 of us and honestly everyone seems cool so thats pretty lucky.

The next day we went to a cloud forest. It was basically a jungle. It is the rainy season and was supposed to be raining but it wasn’t. Our guide says it hasn’t been raining much at all this rainy season (but don’t worry guys global climate change is totally made up). Anyways, it was beautiful and we had a good hike. Then we went to a historic city near San José called Cartago. It was actually the first capitol I believe. We saw a historic old basilica.

Everyone was tired when we got back into the city and our host moms were there to walk us home. I’m starting to figure out everyone in my host family but seriously there are a lot of people that live in the house. The best part is Monse the really cute two year old who is always bouncing around. Her mom is about to have a baby in a few weeks too so I’m really excited for that. My host mom is super kind and cooks good food. I have a nice big room with a bathroom and I’m very happy to be here.

On our first weekend the students went out a bit. I think there is a lot to do in San José and I am excited to keep exploring. There is a mall nearby to where we live where we got SIM cards for our Costa Rican phones. Last night we went to a collegey sports bar to watch the Costa Rican futbol team.

Classes started on Monday and it is really exciting to be going to Universidad Latina. I live really close and so far I like all my classes but it seems like a lot of work. Anyways, Ill write more about school after the first week. This weekend we are also going to the beach for the first time so that will be exciting.

Pura Vida

Author: maxineisland

Live Out Loud

Leave a Reply

